I’m skipping out on writing about my last few days in Copenhagen/Malmo- nobody reads those posts anyway. I’ll summarize by saying we had an awesome time and Copenhagen’s my favorite city in the world. Also, that Chantal makes excellent funfetti cake and Patrick makes excellent California burritos! When we got back from our adventures in Northern Europe, we were beyond exhausted and Patrick was super sick. We think he may have had dysentery. Okay probably not really, but he DID have to go to the Swiss doctor.
Apart from that, this has been a super eventful week in Riva. We got back and were greeted by absolutely beautiful weather. There was a lot of work to be done as we had an interim pin-up for studio on Friday. I’ve made a good deal of progress with it, though. On Wednesday Margarita asked me to build a model to help figure out my site stuff, and it worked out pretty well. I finally moved into cad on Saturday, which was really nice. Before the pin-up Friday we got to go on a tour of Botta’s Bianchi House. It was legit.
Saturday was great. We woke up sort of late-ish only to find that the Swedes had just arrived! I threw on some clothes and was ready in time to go downstairs with the other girls to meet them. They were super nice, as anticipated. We had coffee with them and talked about our visit to Malmo last weekend before they headed out to see the Bianchi House and continue their tour through Switzerland. After brunch, a large group of us headed out to Lugano because the weather was incredible and Trip wanted to go see the boat show. We walked through the park on the waterfront and just enjoyed spending some time outside. It was about 60 and sunny and perfect. We watched a group of kids racing dinghies just like the one Max has in Where the Wild Things Are. I want one. I also got to pick up my pet cactus while we were there- he’s a succulent and his name is Norman.
Sunday morning we went to Palm Sunday Mass at the Settala church. It was great. Apparently in Ticino they use olive branches instead of palms. I heavily approve. The service was beautiful, and it was super neat hearing the passion in Italian. Later in the afternoon I sat out by the playground by the lake to do my Italian homework. It was beautiful, and everyone in town was sitting out eating ice cream and enjoying the weather because the local gelateria opened today. I can’t wait for the end of Lent! After dinner, we all sat and waited for the Pritzker Prize winner to be announced (yay for Sanaa!) before having a group viewing of UT’s epic loss in the tournament.
Monday was AWESOME because I got my package from home! It was filled with all sorts of Easter goodies (Gum + Marshmallow Peeps = yay) as well as my clothing and my new Wild Things shirt, which I promptly put on. Unfortunately, right after I opened my package I went to my computer only to find that my charger had died. Like… dead died. So today I had to go to Lugano to get a new one (this one will be much safer because it has a removable Swiss plug….)