Waking up at the Bauhaus was amazing. The window is large, and the light pours in across the white walls. Breakfast was good, and afterward we packed up the cars and met in the lobby for our tour of the school. Our guide was incredible– she was basically a female version of James Rose. We got a full tour of the studios, theater, and offices. I really enjoyed it. Especially the theater– it has these super comfy chairs and some of the nicest lighting fixtures I’ve ever seen. I’m going to see if I can get Matt to help me build similar ones this summer during the Design Camp. After the tour we continued on down the street to see the houses of the Masters (Klee and Kandinsky!) It was rad. We walked back to the school and I got some postcards. Then everyone went to have lunch at the Bauhaus cafeteria behind the theater stage. I got a bowl of lentil soup only to find that it was super full of bacon. Uck. When everyone was done with their meal we set out for Dresden to see a synagogue that was rebuilt after the city was bombed in World War 2. It was one of the 200 synagogues that was burned. A little Jewish man gave us our tour. Nobody else seemed to enjoy it– but I thought the place was absolutely breathtaking. Courtney got some dirt to take back for Alex, and I pulled a seed from one of the trees in front of the synagogue for her to put in it. Then we set out for Prague! Crossing the border into the Czech Republic was essentially the same as crossing the border into the Siberian tundra. It was a really beautiful landscape to drive through. Especially in the twilight. When we finally neared Prague, the city spread out before us like so many stars dusted over the snowy ground. That illusion was shattered the closer we got to the Hotel E Inn where we were staying. It was located on the sketchiest street I’ve ever slept on. All the girls were in one room. We all decided the best approach was going to be catching a tram into the Old Town to get dinner. Eventually we found a place called La Diavola to eat. Allie Ross and I both had dumplings with eggs to eat. The best way I can describe it would be like a savory French Toast. It was really good! And only 99 CZK– about $5. Have to love the exchange rate. After dinner Gabe, Clay, Tofan, Sadia and I went to a bar to get a drink and celebrate our first night in the Czech. It was fun– I had a glass of white wine served in a mini pilsner glass. We ended up sharing a cab back to the hostel with a gay Czech man named Jorn who hates Americans because his brother’s brain was addled while he was fighting for the Czech army in Afghanistan. Thank you, George Bush.